WHERE SIN BEGINS

Ephesians 2:2-13

God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved). Ephesians 2:4-5

In the book Seeking the Face of God, Gary Thomas discusses sin:

Our quest to understand holiness begins with understanding the absurdity of sin. . . . A performance-based Christian says, “I want to do this, but I know I shouldn’t. I must either find a way to not do this or to not get caught.” The relation-based Christian asks, “Who do I want to be in love with? My Lord or this sin?”

Merely asking ourselves this question unmasks the ugliness of sin. Sin creates massive disturbances in our lives; holiness brings peace. When we look honestly at what each brings, we have to ask ourselves, why, indeed, this sin is even tempting us. Christianity, with its moral calling, may seem repressive to the world, but when we see sin as it really is (slow suicide), the moral calling of Christianity takes on a whole new light.

Sin offers nothing more than momentary satisfaction. It divides your fellowship with God. There is only one answer to sin, and that is a determined “NO!” If you are struggling in a certain area, tell God exactly what you are feeling. Make sure you express yourself fully. Then pray that He will place a hedge of protection around your heart and mind.

All sin begins in the mind as temptation. Only when you act upon it does it become sin. Say no and turn away from all that keeps you from experiencing God’s richest blessings.

Lord, help me to stop sin in my mind when it is still a temptation. I want to turn away from all that prevents me from experiencing Your richest blessing.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.