IS YOUR TONGUE HARD TO TRAIN?

Words whether written or spoken are powerful. God created life by His word. He even left His written word with us. It is alive and active, able to heal, correct, instruct and much more. We have been given the ability to understand words as well as use them. We can recognize words through sight and sound. They enter our being and can either help or hurt us. We can’t always control the words we hear or how they impact us.

The scriptures tell us in James that the tongue is an unruly instrument that is hard to train. It has  power to destroy as well as bless. Today we live where words are used in some of the most cruel and vicious ways. Slander and gossip about others is rampant. It has spread across the media in ways that seem so true but it has left most of us wary of what the truth really is. When was the last time you heard the news being positive about others or our world? Even the web is being used to promote words of hate and slander about others. Knowing that words have such an impact, how are we using our words?

In our relationships are we building or tearing down? In the first years of our marriage Jimmy and I used our words to wound each other. We were not slow to speak and quick to listen. We would use our words to control or defend ourselves. Rarely would we use them to build each other up. James 3:8 tells us that the tongue is an uncontrollable evil, full of deadly poison. That no one can tame it. It takes faith. Faith shows itself by good deeds. One of those deeds is using our words carefully.

Proverbs 3 tells us to put kindness and loyalty around our neck. This should be the filter we use with our words. I want to be kind to Jimmy. To speak to him in ways that builds him up. To be loyal to him with my mouth as well as my body. I have done a lot of damage with my mouth towards Jimmy as well as myself.

I am so grateful for the word of God that encourages me to not only do the right thing, but He gives me grace to try again. His spirit convicts me when I have said hurtful things. It grieves me when I use my words to hurt instead of to bless.

Sometimes we just need to be reminded that by faith in God’s power we can change our words to bring Life instead of death. To build instead of tear down. Love believes the best, so let’s use our words to prove our faith.

Blessings,

Karen Evans
marriagetoday.org

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.