Do not try for perfection – but strive for excellence instead!

Proverbs 10:9
He who walks with integrity walks securely.

Do not try for perfection because we cannot attain it in this life but strive for excellence and integrity in all you do. You will walk securely then with our Great God!!! In the Book of Job – Job describes the way he conducted himself in his life, (with integrity). He had made a covenant with his eyes. The eyes are sometimes called the window to the soul. Not looking at things that would cause him to sin, kept him in his righteous walk with the Lord. He describes the fact that he has not cheated anyone and asks that his actions toward his fellow man be “weighed” against the standards of righteousness. God knew of his integrity and righteous walk with Him. How many people of today’s world are known by or want to be known by their integrity? There are many things we can be known for but to be known by however our righteousness and honesty and integrity are by far the most important. Nowadays it seems that integrity is something that people don’t strive for. Work ethic is another – seems like so many just seem to want to get by. When we walk closely and surrender all to Christ the fruit of the Spirit is so evident in our lives. Today I would like to thank and praise God that when we walk with Him with all sincerity that we will walk securely and it will help us to have integrity in all things we do. The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Abba Father – the world we live in today is so different than the world I was born into. And it changes moment by moment and gets worse and worse. You our dear Lord remain constant in the midst of all the stuff that swirls around us. That Your truth and righteousness would again be something that would be desirable for all!!!!

Job 31:1,5-8
I have made a covenant with my eyes. If I have walked with falsehood, or if my foot has hastened to deceit, let me be weighed on honest scales, that God may know my integrity . If my step has turned from the way, or my heart walked after my eyes, or if any spot adheres to my hands, Then let me sow, and another eat. Yes, let my harvest be rooted out.

This entry was posted in Devotionals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

