The Great Comforter!

Another one of my favorite attributes of God is that He is the Great Comforter. I like to imagine Him up in heaven with a big ol’ comforter just gathering the hurting in a warm embrace. In the below passage the apostle Paul is writing to the Corinthians he uses the word comfort 5 times within 3 verses!!! And when Jesus ascended to heaven after His resurrection He used the words “the comforter” to identify the Holy Spirit whom He was sending to all believers. The Holy Spirit is the third part of the holy trinity – Father, Son and Holy Spirit!!!  Dear Abba, loving Father and Great Comforter!!! I bless Your Holy Names!!! I bless Your attributes Lord!!! That we may be called Your beloved children and that You care for us each individually is sometimes hard to take it all in!!!!! How great thou art!!!!

2 Corinthians 7:4-7
I am acting with great boldness toward you; I have great pride in you; I am filled with comfort. In all our affliction, I am overflowing with joy. For even when we came into Macedonia, our bodies had no rest, but we were afflicted at every turn—fighting without and fear within. But God, who comforts the downcast, comforted us by the coming of Titus, and not only by his coming but also by the comfort with which he was comforted by you, as he told us of your longing, your mourning, your zeal for me, so that I rejoiced still more.

John 14:16
And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you for ever;

This entry was posted in Devotionals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

