THE LIBERTY OF THE SPIRIT

Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with a yoke of bondage. Galatians 5:1 (NKJV)

In every dimension of our lives, the Holy Spirit releases power within us to be witnesses to God’s truth, and only by submitting to the Lord’s leadership through the Spirit do we find wholeness.

Jack Hayford observes in The Power and Blessing:

In the judgment of some, “a life of submission” sounds like a page out of a handbook for membership in a religious order … In fact, in much of today’s church, many have almost sanctified the notion of autonomy, of independence, of “I can do just about whatever I want, because of my freedom in Christ.”

In terms of spiritual reality, we are made free. But our liberty in Christ isn’t a program of perpetuating self-rule in the soul. Our “freedom” is (1) to free us from practicing sin, (2) to free us from smallness of soul, and (3) to free us from a “Lone-Ranger” order of independence which proposes “me” as the single-handed controller of everything in my life.

The spirit of submission, lived out in biblical terms, proposes that God could, in fact, use other people to teach me . . . I’m exposing myself to be the possibility that at times these “others” will adjust and correct me in the spirit of love.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.