HERE I AM—SEND ME!

I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: “Whom shall I send, And who will for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.” Isaiah 6:8

The days in which Isaiah lived were filled with sinful peril. Israel worshiped many gods and adhered to all kinds of evil. It is true; Isaiah should have known better than to overlook Israel’s compromise. He was a priest of God and served daily in the temple. He knew the value of holiness. Yet sin in its quiet deception had stolen a place in his heart.

The day he stood in the presence of God with heralds of seraphim hovering above him was his day of reckoning. God was looking for one man, one voice, to carry His truth to the people. Who would go for Him? Who would answer His call?

Has God called you to a certain task, but the memory of past failures holds you back? Take heart; He is near. Get on your face before Him. Tell Him the ways you have failed, and He will cleanse you.

One of the most wondrous attributes of the heavenly Father is His mercy in forgiveness. Will you, like Isaiah, answer His call?

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.