ENVY and STRIFE

People sure do get jealous over DUMB THINGS. People have done dirty things to me all of my life over jealousies. Unfortunately this is a slam against my own gender, but in my experiences most of those jealousies came from women. They always seem to think they are competing with other women. They compare clothes, they desire men whom belong to someone else, they want to be the center of attention, they want to show off something – whatever it may be. Married women have often been jealous of single women. That one really confuses me. Many people, in general, men or women, cannot stand to see someone else doing better than themselves. Oftentimes when something good would happen for me I have noticed that it makes others angry.  People often say what they do not mean just so they will look good in front of others but inside they are trying to compete for something. Not one of these things I have mentioned are reasons to be jealous of others. All of these things are frivolous nonsense, temporal, and worldly.

The Christian person is supposed to be loving and praying for one another, encouraging each other, and be genuinely happy when something good happens to a fellow Christian even when they themselves may be going through a rough time. I finally learned my lesson. Do not ever expect to find a genuine Christian in a professing ‘Christian’ church group. -Admin-

That I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death. Philippians 3:10 (NKJV)

In Luke 10:38-42 we see this scenario: Jesus was in the front room of the house talking to those gathered near Him. Martha was rushing around the cooking area in the back of the house. All was fine until she discovered her sister was missing. A quick check of the courtyard provided no clue to Mary’s whereabouts. With her jaw set to reprove her sister, Martha stormed by the doorway to the front room.

When she spotted Mary sitting near the feet of Jesus, envy and jealousy took control of Martha’s heart: “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me” (Luke 10:40 NASB).

All of us have fought similar feelings. While God understands our weaknesses, jealousy is intolerable to Him. Why? For one, it proves that we are more interested in taking care of ourselves than in taking care of our love relationship with Him. Jesus told Martha, “Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her” (Luke 10:42 NASB).

Make every effort to rid your life of envy and strife. Set the focus of your heart on Him, and rejoice that He greatly loves you.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.