FEAR

Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You. Psalm 56:3 (NKJV)

Fear seemed to be one of the first abnormal symptoms that the man experienced following the fall from perfect union and fellowship with God: “Then the Lord God called to the man, and to him, ‘Where are you?’ And he said, ‘I heard the sound of Thee in the garden, and I was afraid'” (Genesis 3:9-10 NASB).

Since then every heart has known the panic and trembling that fear brings. Fear of failure. Fear of today. Fear of the future.

We live in fearful times. The only antidote for fear is trust. David, who knew the depth of fear as few people ever have, came to this conclusion as he was seized by the Philistines: “When I am afraid, / I will put my trust in Thee” (Psalm 56:3 NASB). David did not deny his fear. He did not rationalize it or try to out-man it. He admitted his fear and then affirmed his trust in the Lord.

Identify the source of your fear. Bring it before God. Then confidently assert His ability to handle your fears and His willingness to replace your fears with His courage and peace.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.