HIS SPIRIT IN YOU

In Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision avails anything, but a new creation. Galatians 6:15 (NKJV)

English author William Temple explained the Spirit-controlled life this way:

It is not good giving me a play like Hamlet or King Lear and telling me to write a play like that. Shakespeare could do it; I can’t. And it is not good showing me the life of Jesus and telling to live a life like that. Jesus could do it; I can’t.

But if the genius of Shakespeare could come and live in me, then I could write plays like that. And if the Spirit of Jesus could come and live in me, then I could live a life like that. It is not that we should strive to be like Jesus, but that He by His Spirit should come and live in us.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.