WHY?

About the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” Matthew 27:46 (NKJV)

“Why?” That is the universal response to adversity.

“Why did our child die?”
“Why did our business fail?”
“Why did our son reject us?”

In On Asking God Why, Elisabeth Elliot describes the proper context for asking “why”:

I seek the lessons God wants to teach me, and that means I ask why. There are those who insist that it is a very bad thing to question God. To them, “why?” is a rude question.

That depends, I believe, on whether it is an honest search, in faith, for His meaning, or whether it is a challenge of unbelief and rebellion.

You may ask, but ask rightly. For God is the Potter, and you are the clay.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.