A SOURCE OF REFRESHMENT

Psalm 32

He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved. Psalm 62:2

It’s hard to contemplate the dog days of summer in the middle of winter, but try to picture this scene. It is the hottest day in July, the humidity is high, and not a breeze is stirring. Then imagine that you are outside running on baking asphalt. Sweat is pouring off your body, and you can’t wait to get to a glass of water. You feel as though you can’t make another step.

That is the feeling that David described as a result of an exhausted conscience: “For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer” (Psalm 32:4 NIV).

The most deeply troubling times often have little to do with external circumstances. When the Holy Spirit is nudging your conscience about a sin in your life, and you choose not to respond, the misery you experience inside can be indescribable. Do you recall such a time? Every activity in your day seemed a tiresome chore. You had to expend great emotional energy just to deny that something was wrong in your spirit.

The only cure for this kind of heart sickness is confession and repentance: “Then I acknowledge my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. . . and you forgave the guilt of my sin” (Psalm 32:5 NIV). If you spirit is exhausted by running from God, turn to Him for refreshment right now.

Lord, I am exhausted by running from you. I turn to You right now for refreshment.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.