THE NATURE OF SHEEP

Psalm 23

I will both lie down in peace, and sleep; For You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4:8

Have you ever fought the impulse to trust God? Have you ever gone your own way, just to prove to yourself that you could do it? It’s a common impulse, but God knows the truth about your nature as His “sheep.”

In her book Single Moments, Lynda Hunter finds this analogy in her everyday experience:

One February night when my children were young, I put them to bed at their regular time. Then I cleaned my house from top to bottom; baked a birthday cake; decorated the basement, wrapped presents, and prepared lunch for the following day.

I got no sleep that night, and I was just finishing the preparations when the children awoke the next morning. My daughter rubbed her eyes and asked, “What’s for breakfast?” She had slept peacefully while I provided everything she needed for her party that day.

The shepherd may have to make many arrangements or slay innumerable enemies, but the sheep’s sleep is sweet. The sheep accepts its own helplessness and knows it will always need the help of the shepherd. Likewise we can say, even in difficult circumstances, “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety” (Psalm 4:8).

It’s OK to be a sheep; that’s the way God made you. But remember, as long as you resist His care, you will be vulnerable to harm you do not yet understand.

Lord, I trust You with my future. Thank You for Your loving care.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.