STRENGTH THAT IS STRONG

You notice this Scripture? It says ‘I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake.’

It DOES NOT SAY ‘content to have everybody love me, having no enemies, lots of material possessions, fame and money.’

To be a follower of Jesus Christ means encountering difficulties, for Christ’s sake. We are at war with our flesh and at war with the powers of darkness, the devil, who knows exactly how to trip us up.  -Admin-

2 Corinthians 12:7-10

He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ  may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

Often when we face something much greater than our capability to understand or deal with, we become anxious as we wonder how God will intervene. In such a time the apostle Paul discovered a wonderful sense of security in trusting God. Paul prayed three times for the Lord to remove what he called a “thorn in the flesh.”

Paul then wrote, “Concerning this I entreated the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Corinthians 12:8-10 NASB).

Our human nature cries out in begging sobs for God to remove the suffering. Yet it is in times of trial that God endears Himself to us in ways that we would not typically experience. Pain, once it is brought into the throne room of God, commands His personal attention.

Paul’s unwavering faith brought a new sense of strength to his life, one that he had never experienced before that moment. Strength that knows it is strong is really weakness. But weakness that cries out to God for help is strength far beyond human understanding.

Lord, give me strength that is strong in You, unwavering faith that surpasses human understanding.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.