GOD WORKS THROUGH YOU

1 Corinthians 1:1-5

I thank my God always concerning you for the grace of God which was given to you by Christ Jesus. 1 Corinthians 1:4

If you’ve ever heard a gifted speaker deliver a message, you know how convincing the words can be. You find yourself hanging on every sentence, maybe even taking notes as fast as you can write. Somehow, the way he or she communicates makes the difference in how much you listen.

Maybe you feel inadequate talking about your faith in Christ because you are not a dynamic speaker. You hold back, even when a perfect opportunity presents itself, just because you are self-conscious. But God never intended for you to rely on your own abilities as a witness.

The apostle Paul wrote, “When I came to you, brethren, I did not come with superiority of speech or of wisdom, proclaiming to you the testimony of God. For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified . . . And my message and my preaching were not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power” (1 Corinthians 2:1-2, 4, NASB).

We know from other passages that Paul was an excellent public debater, but that is not his point here. He deliberately approached the Corinthians with an attitude of humble simplicity, in weakness, so that God would do the work through him. Regardless of your abilities, God wants to pour His power into your life to enable you to do His work.

Precious Lord, pour Your power into my life. Enable me to do Your work.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.