THE LIGHT OF GOD’s LOVE

Psalm 27

The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid? Psalm 27:1

The Tybee lighthouse near Savannah, Georgia, has seen many storms. Hurricane-force winds have threatened its existence. Gale-driven rains have bludgeoned its walls, and yet it survives. Even when floodwaters cover the roadway that leads out to the island on which it stands, the lighthouse remains a beacon of hope.

David declared, “The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the defense of my life; Whom shall I dread? . . . Though a host encamp against me, My heart will not fear; Though war rise against me, In spite of this I shall be confident. One thing I have asked from the Lord, that I shall seek; That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the Lord, And to meditate in His temple. For in the day of trouble He will conceal me in His tabernacle: In the secret place of His tent He will hide me; He will lift me up on a rock” (Psalms 27:1, 3-5 NASB).

More than once, King David found himself in a hopeless situation. He would have given up ere it not for his hope in God. Instead of becoming angry and bitter, he chose to cling to the goodness of God even in harrowing circumstances. The storms of life will drive you to the light of God’s love and care, or they will force you to retreat in sorrow.

Father, let the storms of life drive me to the light of Your love and care. I don’t want to retreat in sorrow.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.