SURRENDERED TO GOD

John 5:2-14

When Jesus saw him lying there, and knew that he already had been in that condition a long time, He said to him, “Do you want to be made well?” John 5:6

Thomas à Kempis wrote, “If we are not surrendered to God, we will be at war with others.” In reality, we can take this statement a step farther: “If we are not surrendered to God, we will be at war within ourselves.” Internal peace and contentment signal that we are surrendered as much as is possible to the will of God for our lives.

Surrender is not an easy process. Because it involves self-will, it can be painful. However, it is essential to spiritual growth. Many times God will touch an area of your life that you love dearly, one that you feel meets some deep need.

He knows the things that captivate your attention and have the potential to draw you away from Himself. His love for you is so great that He wants you to know Him on an intimate level. But this rarely happens when you are caught up in the distractions of the world.

Sin enters the picture when you refuse to let go of the very things God has asked you to give up. Is there something within you that wants to say, “Lord, I love You, but please don’t ask me to give that up”? Or “Father, I know that what I am doing is not in keeping with Your will for my life, but I just don’t want to stop”?

If there is anything in your life that keeps you from being totally committed to the Lord, then God will reveal it. When He does, ask Him to give you the strength to let go of it.

Dear God, please reveal to me anything that keeps me from being totally committed to You. Then give me the strength to let go of it.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.