HANDLING YOUR WEAKNESS

Romans 6:17-18

O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? I thank God—through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, with the mind I myself serve the law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin. Romans 7:24-25

Your weaknesses are opportunities for God to display His strength and ability. Paul wrote to the people of the church in Rome, “Thanks be to God that though you were slaves of sin, you became obedient from the heart” (Romans 6:17 NASB).

Often when we think of weaknesses, we think of how we have failed God and wonder how He could possibly continue to love and accept us. But outside of our salvation experience, God is not as concerned about change being instantaneous as He is about our hearts being turned toward Him in submission to working with us to teach us to obey and to live within the framework of His mercy and grace.

Once God’s convicting hand touches certain habits and sins, you can immediately respond by turning and walking away from the temptations. God gives you the strength you need to do this.

The apostle Paul’s struggle is a point of encouragement: “That which I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate” (Romans 7:15 NASB).

For Paul there was victory, and the same is true for you. Jesus Christ is your hope and point of freedom from bondage (Romans 7:24-25). He never gives up on you. Praise Him for His undivided love, mercy, and grace.

Lord, I thank You that You never give up on me. Thank You for Your undivided love, mercy, and grace.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.