A SPIRITUAL INVENTORY

Philippians 3:7-14

What things were gain to me, these I have counted loss for Christ. Philippians 3:7

Is there a room or closet in your home that you avoid because it’s filled with stuff that needs to be cleaned out? Finally one day, you decide to tackle the task. As you move through the boxes, you have to make some decisions. Some things stay, and some things must go. Some items are garbage, and some are keepsakes.

Sorting through your belongings is a kind of prioritizing. you are forced to assign a value to the things you own and then treat them accordingly. In Philippians 3, Paul was conducting a kind of spiritual sorting: “Whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish in order that I may gain Christ” (verses 7-8 NASB).

Paul put a “trash” label on anything in his life that didn’t count toward his relationship with the Lord. Along the way, he had lost much, from material possessions to public esteem. But Paul wasn’t concerned. He knew that his “valuables,” the blessings of knowing Christ as his Savior, were always with him.

Is there anything in your life that you value more than Christ? Maybe today is the time for a spiritual inventory.

Lord, I am taking a spiritual inventory today. Teach me Your values.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.