ASK THE FATHER

Matthew 7:7-11

You lust and do not have. You murder and covet and cannot obtain. You fight and war. Yet you do not have because you do not ask. James 4:2

In the human parent-child relationship, when a child needs or wants something, he asks his mom or dad. It would be silly for the child to assume that his parents automatically know all of his needs. For example, if the child said, “Dad, I was thirsty yesterday, and you didn’t give me anything to drink,” that parent would shake his head in amazement and say, “Well, son, you should have asked me.”

In your relationship with God, of course, God already knows what you need before you indicate it. But even so, God wants you to enter into the experience of asking Him specifically. Jesus told us, “Ask, and it shall be given to you; seek, and you shall find; knock, and it shall be opened to you. For every one who asks receives, and he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks it shall be opened” (Matthew 7:7-8 NASB).

God wants you to ask Him so you will learn the joys of a close relationship with Him. He wants you to feel His loving response and appreciate His care. What have you asked Him for today?

Teach me to ask, Lord. Teach me to keep seeking until I find and to keep knocking until the door is opened to me.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.