WHAT DOES IT COST?

2 Samuel 24

David’s heart condemned him after he had numbered the people. So David said to the Lord, “I have sinned greatly in what I have done; but now, I pray, O Lord, take away the iniquity of Your servant, for I have done very foolishly.” 2 Samuel 24:10

In numbering the people of Israel, David shifted his trust from faith in God’s ability to human resources. And in His anger, God sent a pestilence that killed 70,000 men: “When the angel stretched out his hand toward Jerusalem to destroy it, the Lord relented… And the angel of the Lord was by the threshing floor of Araunah the Jebusite. Then David spoke to the Lord when he saw the angel who was striking down the people, and said, ‘Behold, it is I who have sinned, and it is I who have done wrong; but these sheep, what have they done? Please let Thy hand be against me'” (2 Samuel 24:16-17 NASB).

When David realized his sin, he went to God in prayer. When God withdrew His anger, David prayed once again.

He purchased the threshing floor of Araunah the Jebusite so he could offer sacrifices, and he said, “I will surely buy it [the threshing floor] from you for a price, for I will not offer burnt offerings to t he Lord my God which cost me nothing” (2 Samuel 24:24 NASB).

When your back is against the wall and every avenue closed up before you, do you say a quick prayer to gain relief, or do you offer prayer that costs you something? David humbled his heart before God, and the Lord heard his cry.

I’m not after instant relief, Lord. I want Your will and purposes worked out in my life.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.