THE POWER OF THE WORD

Romans 3:23-25

The word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Hebrews 4:12

Though the book of Romans was written around A.D. 57, it is just as relevant today. So powerful is its message that many have come to a deeper understanding of God’s personal love through reading this book.

Warren Wiersbe writes,

On May 24, 1738, a discouraged missionary went, very unwillingly, to a religious meeting in London. There a miracle took place. “About a quarter before nine,” he wrote in his journal, “I felt my heart strangely warmed. I felt I did trust in Christ, Christ alone, for salvation; and an assurance was given me that He had taken away my sins, even mine, and saved me from the law of sin and death.”

That missionary was John Wesley. The message he heard that evening was the preface to Martin Luther’s commentary on Romans. Just a few months before, John Wesley had written in his journal: “I went to America to convert the Indians; but who shall convert me?”

That evening his question was answered. And the result was the great Wesleyan revival that swept England and transformed the nation.

Paul’s epistle to the Romans is still transforming people’s lives. You and I can read and study the same inspired letter that brought life and power to Luther and Wesley! You and I can experience revival if the message of this letter grips us as it has gripped men of faith in centuries past.

Lord, thank You for the power of Your Word. Let it grip me as it has gripped men of faih in centuries past.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.