THE GARDEN NEAR THE CROSS

John 19:38-42

Who is this coming up from the wilderness, Leaning upon her beloved? I awakened you under the apple tree. There your mother brought you forth; There she who bore you brought you forth. Song of Solomon 8:5

In the book, Candles in the Dark, a collection of letters to friends, other missionaries, and family, Amy Carmichael writes,

How tangled life can be, and nobody can disentangle such tangles. Sometimes I wonder how I can spend one single moment on trifles; I should be all the time praying for those who are in tangles. But I do believe it is true that whatever I am doing, awake or asleep, the underlying thought is always there for those who are going through hard ways.

“Now in the place where He was crucified there was a garden.” It comforts me to know that you have found the garden, the garden that forever lies so near the cross. And you will find it a place where the south wind blows as well as the north. It isn’t all north wind.

But my chief word for you these days is the Song of Songs 8:5, “Who is this that cometh up from the wilderness, leaning upon her Beloved?” I have just noticed afresh that He on whom we lean did Himself “come out of the wilderness.” He doesn’t ask us to walk in any path where He has not walked before.

When Peter saw Jesus walking on the water during the zenith of the storm, he wanted to walk out to Him. Halfway there, however, Peter became frightened and began to sink; then he cried out to Jesus. Never be ashamed to call to the One who loves you. As He was with Peter, He is with you.

Lord, help me to lean on You today, knowing You have already been where I am going.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.