FREEDOM TO LOVE

1 John 2:4-10

May the Lord make you increase and abound in love to one another and to all, just as we do to you. 1 Thessalonians 3:12

How free are you in your love? Do you give love without needing or expecting love in return? While each of us desires love, it is far better to love unconditionally than always to expect a return on our love.

Amy Carmichael writes about love toward others:

A few minutes ago I read words that sum up my desires for you: 1 Thessalonians 3:12, “The Lord make you to increase and abound in love one toward another.” This poor world is a cold place to many. I pray that no one who comes to us may ever feel chilled here, but rather that all chilliness may melt, melted by the blessed glow of heavenly love. Don’t let us ever be afraid of being too loving. We can never love enough.

So I pray, “Lord, keep us free to love. Never let the slightest shade of suspicion shadow any heart. Help each to think the best of every other. Through all the chances and changes of life, hold all together in tender love. Let nothing quench love. Let nothing cool it. Keep every thread of the gold cord unbroken, unweakened, even unto the end, Oh my Lord, Thou Loving One, keep my beloveds close together in Thy love forever.”

How you love others reflects your love for Christ. Be patient in love, willing to receive little to no thanks for something you have done in love for another. Remember, no act of love is ever wasted.

Lord, set me free to love. Don’t let suspicion shadow my heart. Help me to think the best of others.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.