JESUS IS ALIVE!

1 Corinthians 15:12-19

The other disciples therefore said to him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see in His hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.” John 20:25

After the Resurrection, the disciples were overcome with joy that sprang from the realization that God had not forgotten them. Jesus was alive! However, not everyone shared the same enthusiasm. Thomas, one of their own, proclaimed, “Unless I shall see in His hands the imprint of the nails, and put my finger into the place of the nails, an dput my hand into His side, I will not believe” (John 20:25 NASB).

Eight days later, Jesus came once again to them. That time Thomas was among those present. Turning to him, Jesus said, “Reach here with your finger, and see My hands; and reach here your hand, and put it into My side; and do not be unbelieving, but believing” (John 20:27 NASB).

In Lectures in Systematic Theology, Henry Thiessen writes, “The Resurrection is the fundamental doctrine of Christianity . . . In 1 Corinthians 15:12-19 Paul shows that everything stands or falls with Christ’s bodily resurrection. If Christ has not risen, preaching is vain (verse 14), the Corinthians’ faith was vain  (verse 14), the apostles were false witnesses (verse 15), the Corinthians were yet in their sins (verse 17), those fallen asleep in Jesus have perished (verse 18), and Christians are of all men most to be pitied (verse 19).

We are made fully alive because Jesus Christ lives within us. Death had no authority over Him. As Thomas learned, He truly is our risen Lord and Savior!

Jesus, I praise You that I am fully alive because You live within me. You are my risen Lord and Savior.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.