RUNNING FROM CORDUROY

Psalm 27

The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid? Psalm 27:1

An older pastor remembers a time when, as a boy, he took a shortcut across a vacant field. His mother had warned him not to cross the field in darkness. But knowing he was late for supper, he ignored her words.

Halfway through his adventure, he noticed the wind picking up. The leaf-barren tree limbs against the night sky added a frightening setting to his journey. Before he realized it, he was walking at a very brisk pace. Then he heard footsteps coming up behind him.

He turned to look, but no one was there. The moment he resumed walking, the steps returned. He even tried running, but that, too, was futile.

By that point he was besieged with anxiety. There seemed to be no escape! Suddenly a thought occurred to him: Could I be imagining an evil intruder? When he turned and looked, no one was there. Then he heard the noise again, but it came only when he moved his legs.

Looking down, he realized he was wearing corduroy pants. It was the rubbing back and forth of the material that made the sound he thought was footsteps.

Are you running from corduroy? Put your anxieties aside. Jesus is committed to protecting you.

Dear heavenly Father, take my fears and anxieties. I thank You that You are committed to protecting me.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.