FACING YOUR FEARS

Psalm 12:4

Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

In her book, Tame Your Fears, Carol Kent isolates and defines five forms of fear that can paralyze an individual: (1) the fear of things that haven’t happened yet, (2) the fear of being vulnerable, (3) the fear of abandonment, (4) the fear of truth, and (5) the fear of making wrong choices. She writes,

Identifying our fears and admitting we have a problem is only the beginning . . . The first step in finding a solution is to acknowledge that there are times when we question our faith and struggle with fear . . .

Fear becomes “comfortable” because it’s familiar. We’re used to feeling like powerless subjects in the fear of monster’s kingdom. Instead of taming the monster and enjoying our lives, we allow ourselves to die slowly by many of the following prescriptions: denial, addictions, withdrawal, control, shame, and self-hatred . . .

Facing our fear head-on can feel intensely risky. But it can be a stepping stone to humble faith, renewed confidence, appropriate power and courage, and trusting reverence toward a sovereign, powerful, and loving God. “Perfect love casts out fear” (1 John 4:18). It’s in the Bible. And it’s true.

When fear attacks, claim your position as God’s child and accept His victory. He has overcome the disabling power of fear, and this is your greatest asset: His power living in you.

Dear Lord, help me to face my fears head-on in Your name. Let Your power be manifested in and through me.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.