THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD

1 John 4:4-10

In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. 1 John 4:10

If you have felt that God has abandoned you when things go wrong, you are not the first believer to wrestle with such thoughts. Don’t be afraid to ask God the hardest questions. He longs to answer you with His power and grace.

In her book, Lord, Where Are You When Bad Things Happen?, Kay Arthur shares her emotions as she discovered the truth of God’s sovereignty:

After I came to know Jesus Christ, God sent a godly man to tutor me in the faith. I was like a dry sponge being softened by the Word, absorbing all that I could get.

One night as Dave and I sat in my living room, he took off his signet ring and put it into his hand, clinching his fingers around it until his knuckles were white. Then he said, “Kay, now that you belong to Jesus Christ, you are just like this ring, and my hand is just like the hand of God. God has you in His hand. No one can touch you, look at you, or speak to you without God’s permission.”

I didn’t recognize it then, but Dave was teaching me the sovereignty of God. Later, as I came to understand that God is sovereign and in control of everything so that nothing can happen without his knowledge and permission, I understood more fully what Dave saying.

I also understood that the God who held me in His sovereign hand is a God of love (1 John 4:10). Everything that has came into my life would have to be filtered through His fingers of love.

God, I am thankful that everything in my life is filtered through Your fingers of love. You hold me in Your sovereign hand.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.