THE REVELATION OF GOD

John 13:1-17

No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you. John 15:15

The highest proof of true friendship,” emphasizes Andrew Murray, “is the intimacy that holds nothing back and admits the friend to share our inmost secrets. It is a blessing to be Christ’s servant; His redeemed ones delight to call themselves His servants. Christ had often spoken of the disciples as His servants. In His great love our Lord now says, ‘No longer do I call you servants, but I call you friends, for all things I heard from my Father I have made known to you.'”

Since the beginning of time God has sought ways of revealing Himself to mankind—first int he Garden of Eden and later to the prophets. With the birth of His Son, God initiated an intimacy with man that can never be destroyed. Jesus’ love for us was so great that He laid aside His royal robe in heaven and took up a towel and basin to serve those He came to save.

The next time you are tempted to think that God doesn’t care if you hurt or if you are lonely, think about what it cost Him to come to earth. He did not come to judge or condemn; He came to demonstrate His personal love for you. Before He left heaven, He knew there would be a Cross, and still He was willing to come to you.

God continues to reveal Himself even when you are captivated by the things of this world. Ask Him to make you sensitive to His great love.

Lord, make me sensitive to Your great love. Thank You for Your personal love for me, for leaving heaven and coming to earth to die for my sin.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.