HOW TO LIVE YOUR LIFE

2 Corinthians 5:14-17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. 2 Corinthians 5:17

The woman explained how she had witnessed her love for Christ to another friend over a period of several years: “I tried not to preach to my friend. Instead, I sought to ‘live out’ God’s love by loving this person unconditionally. I wondered if what I had said and lived made a difference. Then one day, my friend came to me and thanked me for loving her and telling her that Jesus loves her too.”

The unconditional love of God changes hearts and people, though we may not see the immediate results. Jesus was serious about sin, but His first concern always was the sinner. He wanted those who came to Him to understand one thing: God loves them.

If we live for ourselves, the fruit of our labor will be obvious: a need to be noticed first, receive credit for what we do, and a continual striving for a material reward. We could summarize the self-centered life with four words: convenience, comfort, covetousness, and compromise.

Servanthood, personal sacrifice, and a genuine love for others mark the Christ-centered life. Instead of asking what you can get out of this situation, job, or friendship, ask, “Lord, how can You use me to bring glory to You in this particular situation? Whom can You love through me?” Pray that you will live your life in such a way that men and women will see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Lord, I know that the Christ-centered life is the only effective life. Use me. Love through me. Let my life bring You glory today and in the days to come.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

