WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT

Psalm 8:1-9

Anxiety in the heart of man causes depression, but a good word makes it glad. Proverbs 12:25

Have you ever hesitated to speak words of encouragement because you weren’t sure how they would be received? Being an encourager means reaching out even when you’re not sure.

You never know the impact you might have. In his book The Power of Encouragement, Dr. David Jeremiah explains:

I can be encouraged by what I hear. If I sense someone genuinely cares about me, that person’s words can be powerful. As the adage goes, “Nobody cares how much you know until they know much you care.”

The Book of Proverbs speaks often about encouragement. here’s one example: “Anxious hearts are very heavy but a word of encouragement does wonders!” (Proverbs 12:25, TLB). Have you ever been weighed down by anxiety when someone came along and spoke a good word which lifted your spirit?

During one of the deepest, darkest times in my life, a fellow pastor called me just to say, “David, I want you to know I love you, and I know you are going through some hurt. I want you to know I’m here if you need me. I want to pray with you.” And he prayed with me on the phone. He called me every week for several weeks with a word of encouragement. He poured courage into my heart. . . . Believe it or not, two or three sentences can turn a person’s life around.

Lord, give me the spiritual maturity to help others. I want to be an encouragement and blessing to those with whom I come in contact today.

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

