A CLEAN HEART

Psalm 51

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Psalm 51:10

I love putting on a fresh, clean shirt each morning. I don’t know what my wife does to those shirts when she washes them, but boy do they smell and feel good! There’s just something about the smell of a clean shirt that makes me feel as though I have a fresh start to a new day no matter what has happened the day before.

A clean heart can have much the same effect in our lives. When we ask for forgiveness and present our dirty hearts to God, He washes them; and boy does it feel good when He gets done! No matter how ground in the stains may be, God can and will remove them if we simply ask Him. Scripture tells us His mercies are new every morning. (See Lamentations 3:22-23) So just as we can put on fresh smelling shirts each morning, we can be sure that if we ask Him, God will see to it that we have a clean heart every morning as well.

Father, “create in me a clean heart. . . and renew a right spirit within me.”

This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.